Genesis – Just another untitled

This month’s issue of Computer Music is really awesome! The magazine is worth the money not only for the content, but – most of all – for the goodies. Every month a new piece of software, usually a VST plugin. This month it is the Genesis. It’s a beast.:-)

Here you see it loaded in Energy XT, a DAW I’m still not fully comfortable with – but I keep trying. The other great synth – although I had to download it from the Web myself – is Robin Schmidt’s Straightliner, with a very cyberpunk-like GUI:

So I felt inspired – again – to make some music now with these two Sound Machines. On may 28th I fired up FLStudio and loaded the plugins. I baptized my opus 7-to-be “Genesis”, but I was not very lucky. First of all, it was difficult to find the sounds I wanted to hear, secondly the Straightliner took a lot of the CPU of my three-years old notebook, so FLStudio crashed after 20 bars or so, thirdly: I was working on another project as well, and last but not least: maybe I was not as inspired as I thought I was.

Four times I started over again, naming my “Unvollendete” simply “untitled.flp”. Today I did it. The best part is for the Genesis with the “Go-Techno””preset, but there is also a very small melodic line for the Straightliner. No samples are used, everything derived from my own imagination šŸ™‚

[display_podcast]

Leave a Reply

