Geek Stuff

This is a kind of “What’s in my Bag?”- post. Tonight I’ve quickmarked some of my gadgets for the Tales of Things-project. My E-Reader (I wrote about that on my RL-Blog in Dutch), my LiveScribe-smartpen, my Samson Go-Mic, my external HDD and my HTC Desire. After labeling them I uploaded the tales to the Tales of Things website. And I created a Geek-Stuff set on my Flickr account.
Okay, that’s enough showing off, now it’s time to actually do something with all these gadgets. So, I read another chapter of Drexler’s “Engines of Creation 2.0”, the e-book, and some pages of John Brunner’s “The Crucible of Time” – all of course from my sony e-reader, currently loaded with 330 books!. Then finally some time to watch television, a program I recorded some weeks ago on my DVD-recorder (another indispensible tool if you are a time management-freak like me): “Labyrint” about 3D printing, artificial blood vessels and organs. My main intention was to find the right mindset for preparing some talks I have to give shortly on conferences about Human Enhancement and Ethics – I bragged about this on my Dutch Transhumanism-website, but also to try my Livescribe pen. While watching this very interesting stuff my smartpen recorded the whole session and I was making some notes simultaneously. Thanks to my smartpen I didn’t miss a word, and I was able to improve my notes afterwards, listening back to the recording. The notes are directly linked to what you hear. Here is my pencast (in Dutch).

I think Livescribe is one of the best gadgets since the invention of sliced bread. 🙂

Leave a Reply

