The Jedi Code

From Wookieepedia, the Star Wars Wiki

The Jedi Code was a code of conduct that established rules and modes of behavior for all Jedi. Although changing in style through the generations, the main tenets, context and meaning of the code stayed the same.

One of the key portions of the Code was a five-line mantra. The original version of the mantra was:

Emotion, yet peace.
Ignorance, yet knowledge.
Passion, yet serenity.
Chaos, yet harmony.
Death, yet the Force.

The refined version established by Odan-Urr and transcribed by Homonix Rectonia during the Early Manderon Period was perhaps the best known:

There is no emotion, there is peace.
There is no ignorance, there is knowledge.
There is no passion, there is serenity.
(There is no chaos, there is harmony.)(*)
There is no death, there is the Force.
—The Jedi Code (Based on the meditations of Odan-Urr)

(*)The fourth line “There is no chaos, there is harmony,” is removed in some Jedi texts. At the Funeral of Mara Jade Skywalker, for instance, this line was omitted.

Picture by Volemlock
OMG, what a lot of information on this wiki – it’s even worse than Tolkien! I was just looking for information on the new book “Star Wars: Darth Plagueis“.

Amazon sells it, but the kindle version is more expensive than the hardcover! Well, that’s another issue, I’ve got the book now and I’m planning to read it, but I realized I had to delve in the rest of the saga – there is obviously more than the six movies! 🙂